Sarah in Veganland


No Really, What Do You Eat?
June 18, 2010, 6:03 am
Filed under: Food, Recipes, The Journey, Vegan Cooking

I eat really delicious food.  Every day, people. I LOVE food. The misconception that vegans don’t eat or don’t like to eat is one of the most irritating and least truthful of all the misconceptions (and there are many).  Today I ate really really good food that I made for myself.  And I don’t want to hear your bullshit about working full time or being a parent or any of those crap excuses for not cooking and being absolutely forced to eat McDonald’s.  I got news: no one needs to or is forced to eat McDonald’s. 

Here was my day:

Got up, put three cups of water on the stove to boil while I prepared my dogs’ breakfasts (they are not vegans, but I do make their food, more on that later, or on my dog blog).  I put a pot of coffee on (please do not lecture me on the downsides of coffee, you will see that I need it as you finish reading this) and then added my steel cut oats to the water, reduced the heat to a low-ish boil and hopped in the shower.

Fast forward a little bit, I’m ready to go, the oatmeal is done, so I pour it into a mug, mix in some blackberries and brown sugar, poor my coffee into a to-go cup and off I go.  At work as I prepare for the day I consume my coffee and freakin’ yummy oatmeal. I work.

Fast forward again to lunch.  This is easy, I bake a potato and pour Amy’s vegan black bean chili on it.  Devour. Delish. Drink a ton of water (this is so important, if you have a soda at lunch make yourself have water or unsweetened tea for a couple of weeks and you won’t understand why you drank soda in the first place).  Then I go back to work.

I shoved a granola bar in my face before I taught class, and drank yet more water.  Then I was finally done.  12 hours ago I got up, and now I was finally on my way home.  I headed to the gym, spent an hour there, and came home to make my new quick-n-easy staple:

Boil some water. While that is happening cut up some mushrooms, any kind, and dice up some garlic.  Get a pan with some oilive oil nice and warm, then toss in the mushrooms and add some fresh baby spinach, toss and cover to let the spinach steam a second.  Add pasta to the water when it boils.  When the pasta is about 5 minutes out, add the garlic to the pan with the veggies.  Let that get all comfortable and then pour in some jarred pasta sauce of your choice.  Let that warm up while the pasta finishes.  When the pasta is done toss it right into the pan with the sauce and you’re done, delcious, nutritious, fabulous. Make it even better by using whole wheat pasta and/or adding white beans.  YUM.  You wish you ate this well…


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment